Ego

Shortly* before Napoleon’s car accident – and my being temporarily spirited from the world of blogging – I was awarded a ‘Stylish Blogger Award’ by the fiendishly talented illustrator and all-round sweetheart, Maya Beus.

Having already revealed five things about myself in circumstances similar to these – read here for a reminder – it is difficult to muster, as required by the award, a further seven.

I’m just not that interesting, folks.

With my store of witty personal anecdotes a long-busted flush, might it be imprudent to attempt this once again?  Well, of bloody course, but imprudence has always been my strong suit…

Seconds Out.  Round Two.

1.  My favourite colour is white.  Nah, that’s too boring.

2.  I see a therapist once a month.  It used to be once a week.  Does that mean I’m getting better…?

3.  My first words, on meeting Napoleon, were “Entertain me”.  Ever since, the performing monkey plucky darling has been doing precisely that.

4.  I sponsor a beautiful little girl in Mumbai, India.  Going by the name of Pre, she often sends crayoned drawings and doodles that cheer my spirits more than she will ever comprehend.  They are mostly of mangoes.  Seriously, the kid is obsessed.

5.  I’ve only ever slept with one man.  I can’t drive.  I’m an Atheist.  One of these is a lie.

6.  Often, I will flirt with the notion of quitting my job in publishing and re-training as a teacher.  To be filed under: Mid-life Crisis.

7.  Napoleon proposed in November.  November 2009, that is.  I still haven’t tried on a single wedding dress.

In alphabetical order – and to increase my karma/dodge going to Hell/satisfy my good deed quotient for the day – I would like to pass this award to the following ladies:

A Bit Coquettish

My New Favourite Thing

Not Just Another Milla

Quite Continental

Style on the Couch

Turkish Deelight

Wearing It Today

* By ‘shortly’, I mean six months ago.  But that’s just how we roll here on Style Souk:  Slooo…ooo…wly.

13 Comments

Filed under Style Souk

13 responses to “Ego

  1. Personally I’ve very much enjoyed learning that little bit more about you! Also rather nice to know other people flirt with the idea of a career overhaul too and I’m not alone! 🙂
    Thank you for your comment on my blog about a trillion years ago! (I too seem to move at a snail’s pace, nothing to be ashamed of I say)
    Lollipop is the shade I favour too in the summer – the perfect red. Considering trying out Geranium too at some point, have you tired it? x

    • Geranium is beautiful.

      I recently bought it on the recommendation of Laura @ Wearing It Today and think it’s the perfect mix of orange and poppy red.

      Thank you for your lovely comment, x

  2. So you’re either an atheist or you can’t drive. And…Julia Child didn’t start cooking till 40 and no one called it a mid-life crisis, call it evolving and go where your heart takes you.
    Hope to hear more from you!
    Cupcake

    • Are you implying that my bedpost has many notches..? ;0)

      I’ve missed you so much, Cupcake, and hope that both you and your family are happy and well.

      Is our little book club continuing?

      Sarah x

  3. To give you a therapist’s response to number 2: “what do you think??”

    Thank you so much for my bloggers award. Glad to hear you and Napoleon are still entertaining one another. As it should be 🙂

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

  4. Many thanks, Sarah, for this lovely award. As I am a great admirer of yours, I’m very honored to receive it from you.

    I also must say I completely understand Pre’s obsession with mangoes. While I don’t draw them very often, they frequently are on my mind…especially in the summer.

    xoxo. M.

  5. Turkish Deelight

    Darling thank you so much for my award again! With my blog’s 1st birthday fast approaching I don’t feel like I’ve done enough to deserve it. But you know what you are talking about so I may have to take your word on it on this occasion 🙂

    You continue to fascinate me as always, especially as you sponsor a girl in India. I have always told myself that once I get a proper job once university is finished, I will sponsor a girl in Turkey. The clothes that we buy end up being discarded but that little girl will go on to become someone amazing with your help and there is nothing to top something like that in life.

    Also we clearly need to get started with planning your wedding!! Loving all of these blog posts in a row, just don’t disappear again please!

    Dee xxx

  6. (1) You are not boring.
    (2) I adore your blog.
    (3) I am so beyond flattered and you did make my day!!

    (Currently at work, thus the bulleted, numbered posts. Hehe)

    xx

  7. Pingback: It’s that time of the day for a quickie! | a bit coquettish

  8. everydayglamour

    I love this sooo much!!! Thank you for sharing the remainder of your list with us.

  9. Maya

    I have to say this is by far my favorite post on this subject. You are way funny, girrrrlll! :-))))) And again a bit of serendipity with you: just this weekend I’ve been thinking how I’d like to sponsor a child and now you mention it. That is such a great thing you are doing: I really believe personal acts like this are the best way to make a difference.
    Great post! 🙂
    xx

  10. White is my favourite colour without a shadow of a doubt! I feel no shame 🙂

  11. pinsandfeathers

    This is so quirky and thoughtful – love.

Leave a comment